Are You Serious?!

With the barrel of the gun pressed against my temple, Mr. Fatass Burgejoint insists I scarf down another of his calorically dense, saturated fat laden burgers. Demands I shove an epic sized portion of fries down my gullet. Wash it down with a tanker sized soda. Locked in this dark, dank room with my own impending obesity and Mr. Fatass with a gun. No choice but to do as he demands. Fork over my $5.00 and set about the business of killing myself slowly. Diabetes, high blood pressure, and heart disease loom. I know it, and there is nothing I can do about it. Mr. Burgerjoint insists.
 
Logging onto various news sources this morning, I came across an article discussing the number of lawsuits being lodged against different food corporations. Consumers blaming their obesity on the various food corporations and the fast food industry. Words like, "spurious" and "specious" leap to mind. Followed closely by "bullshit." And it’s "bullshit" by a nose.
 
Listen: I know this is going to come as a shock to you, but there is no Mr. Fatass Burgerjoint. No dark, dank room and certainly no gun. There is only you and the choices you make. These frivolous lawsuits need to be tossed out on their collective keyster.
 
Parents blaming the fast food industry for their children’s diabetes. Because it couldn’t possibly be their fault, could it? You’re the parent. You make the decisions for your child. Sorry, it comes with the territory. No, you are not always going to be the most popular person in your house. But you will be instilling good eating habits in your children. I think they call that parenting.
 
The morbidly obese blaming the fast food industry for their imminent death. Because it couldn’t be that you slowly, and deliberately ate your way to your current physical condition, could it?  I mean, don’t you make the choice as to what you are going to eat? I am pretty sure that is the way it goes. Anyway, I am going to get back to my quickly disintergrating brackets, but I am going to leave you with this: It’s the province of the judicial system and the courts to right wrongs. To bring relief to those that have been treated unjustly. The basic assumption being that someone has wronged you. More simply, someone has done something to you. The court is not here to help if you did it to yourself.
 
Fruits and veggies, people. Fruits and veggies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

